South Bay Cities Council of Governments

The South Bay Cities Council of Governments (SBCCOG) is a joint powers agency consisting of 16 cities: Los Angeles, Carson, El Segundo, Gardena, Hawthorne, Hermosa Beach, Inglewood, Lawndale, Lomita, Manhattan Beach, Palos Verdes Estates, Rancho Palos Verdes, Redondo Beach, Rolling Hills, Rolling Hills Estates, and Torrance.

The SBCCOG pilot program developed and demonstrated a coordinated process that enables a collection of local municipal governments to work together to assess, identify, prioritize, and eventually implement energy efficiency projects in their public facilities.

SBCCOG provides a central point of contact for participation of 16 cities, both large and small, that are actively addressing community issues of common interest including energy related topics. As such, it presented an exceptional match for participating in a CALeep Energy Efficiency Pilot Project yielding valuable insights for California communities seeking to implement energy efficiency programs.

CALeep SBCCOG Pilot Objectives

  • Identify, select, and rank project opportunities for municipalities. Map of South Bay Cities (Click to enlarge)
  • Estimate savings afforded by energy efficiency options.
  • Identify program resource needs and develop a funding plan, including identification of potential funding sources.
  • Work out program logistics, including assignment of technical and administrative functions and responsibilities.
  • Develop a strategic energy efficiency action plan suitable for application for future funding (e.g., from CPUC, CEC, etc.).

SBCCOG Pilot Project Final General Report