New Winners in the 2018 Blueprint for Fuctional Sustainability Competition!

Rob Slowinski

The 2018 Blueprint for Functional Sustainability's final event took place on Friday, June 1st at REDCAT's black box theater in downtown Los Angeles, below the Walt Disney Concert Hall. In front of an audience of about 100 of their peers, the 16 finalists continued to raise the bar for sustainable design and community architectural integration.

Students were tasked with designing a 30,000-to-40,000 square-foot performing arts center located in Los Angeles State Historic Park. The students' designs were judged on the tenants of sustainability, specifically in relation to passive systems on the building site. Such considerations included energy efficiency, water efficiency, occupant comfort, regenerative design, and community context. After rounds of difficult deliberation, the panel of jurors for around the Los Angeles architecture community selected the following winners:

• Emily Bandy - 1st Prize
• Christa Frisco - 2nd Prize
• Pearson Lord - Honorable Mention
• Jean Olmsted - Honorable Mention
• Antoinette Shapiro - Honorable Mention

Other competition finalists included:
• Reed Canova
• Mara Carcamo
• Henry Chu
• Jack Hamilton
• Luciana Hodara Rahde
• Klaude Matias
• Jessica O'Brien
• Ivan Ray Panaligan
• Xavier Salas
• Debbie Wang
• Jasmin Yao

All of us involved in the competition are very grateful to the distinguished panel of jurors, including:
• Orhan Ayyuce
• Siobhan Burke
• Mitchell De Jarnett
• Carlo Gavina
• Dominique Hargreaves
• Wonne Ickx
• Aaron Vaden-Youmans
• Jim Weiner
• Larry Wolff

as well as professors Dr. Hofu Wu and Katrin Terstegen from Cal Poly Pomona, and Carlo Gavina and Marisa Rojas from Southern California Gas. We're looking forward to further exciting competitions in the future!